Struggling with keeping focus

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Alexander Valdes
    Participant

I am a newer member of the Bard school and am having some trouble staying interested with the booklets taking so long to release. I graduated in 2018 and still have that college kid drive, and I read and did all exercises within three weeks. Understanding that some of the bigger concepts need time to be considered, I’m still feeling frustrated that I cannot simply move on to package two when I’m ready.

I’m wondering if anyone else feels that same, or maybe someone further along that can vouch for the amount of time? I understand traditionally it may make more sense, but I’m locked in my house all day, every day. I would love to have more to read and self-teach, but find myself becoming dissuaded at realizing I still have almost an entire month before package 2 is released for me.

Dowrgi
    Participant

Hi Alexander.

I think the time to absorb the material is important and it’s not just about doing the exercises in an academic way. How about doing the exercises again after a certain period of time to see if anything’s different? You can always supplement your studies with a lot of other material too, given that we’re doing the bardic course, how about reading as much Celtic-language poetry as you can find? Another idea could be to start learning a Celtic language or researching the culture and folklore of a Celtic area. If you look on the Bookshelf thread in this forum, there are some books that members have listed and reviewed that may be helpful too. Anyway, that’s just my advice, but I hope it helps and I hope you can find some inspiration there.

Bennathow
    /|\

This site has a wealth of sources and information to look at:

http://www.maryjones.us/ctexts/

david poole
    Participant