Standing Stones Etiquette

The British Druid Order Forums BDO Public Forum Standing Stones Etiquette

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    ravenblackthorn
    Participant

Hello all,
    I am a newbie to Druidry.
    My husband and I will be visiting a remote area with standing stones in a few weeks.
    We would like to visit them and maybe walk in the area and into the centre of them.
    Is there a particular way of doing this – we want to show respect to them rather than treat them as a tourist attraction.
    Raven

Dowrgi
    Participant

Hi Raven, welcome – dynnargh dhis!

There is no formal, set etiquette as far as I’m aware, other than the respect you’d bring to any sacred site. However, my own etiquette would be to approach the stones and walk around them clockwise on entering and then anti-clockwise on leaving. I’d also take some time to sit quietly with the stones and if you touch them, touch them with an open and sincere heart. If there’s any litter, as sadly there can be, do something positive and pick it up to keep the site clean. In that way you’d also be showing some respect and sending out some positive energy. I’ve often sat with lonely stones on the moors, the trouble is that a sheep can often have the comical effect of disturbing your sublime thoughts! Ha ha! Anyway, take care and I hope your visit to the stones, wherever they may be, is meaningful for you.

Bennathow
    /|\

Startree
    Participant