Introduction

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    True Owl
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here, and have just started the Bardic Course.
    So I thought I would introduce myself – I am Jules (True Owl), and I live with my wife in Somerset.
    I have been on the Druid path for many years.
    I have completed the three grades of Bard, Ovate & Druid with the New Order of Druids (NOD) about ten years ago.
    I have also mentored all three courses for other students, and am a member of the NOD Council.
    I wish for a new challenge & a refresh of the courses. The NOD courses tend to be more on the Irish angle of myths, so it would be nice to study from the Welsh sources (I have Welsh ancestry as well as Irish, so its good to have a take on this side as well).

Hope you all are taking care out there.

Blessings

Jules (True Owl).

True Owl
    Participant

Hi everyone,

A bit more about myself – I am 62 years young, married to a wonderful wife, and have two grown up children, which have flown the nest. One of which (our eldest daughter) has made us very proud Grandparents, to a lovely little chap, who just turned one a couple of months ago.

I like playing the guitar and listening to a variety of music. I also enjoy reading and learning all things new, which help me on my path.  
    I love all things nature – the land, the trees, the rivers & streams, the sky, animals & birds (Owls being my favourite).

In reference to the BDO Bardic course, it is interesting that it asks you to create a ‘Worry bag’ with three items on it – very apt, so here are mine :

1. Strange ! But I do feel apprehensive about starting a course with a different Druid Order.

2. I have a high expectation of myself, as I have previously completed the Bard, Ovate & Druid grades with the New Order of Druids (No pressure then. LOL !).

3. I know a lot more about Irish myths, and actually not very much about the Welsh sources – but I guess, that’s why I’m here !