Greetings

• This topic has 10 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by Dave TheDruid-3X3.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    WolfSoul
    Participant

Hello all!

My name is Matt or Wolfsoul. I’m new to BDO but not to Druidry or Paganism. I’ve been Pagan for 20 years, starting with Wicca, and then moving to general witchcraft and animism. I only found out about Druidry and started with OBOD ten years ago and just kind of forgot to do the course… so I’ve never even finished the Bardic grade! Instead I ended up doing my own studying and rituals, recording my experiences. My spiritual path has always been a mix of animism, especially animal spirits, polytheism and spellwork. When I read about Druidry for the first time, I was surprised I hadn’t heard about it! I grew up with stories of Druids but didn’t even understand they were real people and not just myth, never mind that modern Druidry was a thing! Though I also thought the same about witches before coming across Wicca.

I am from North Wales, though I am currently living in Leicestershire. I miss my home a lot but due to finances I cannot move back yet. I grew up knowing some Welsh, but have long forgotten it. It’s something I certainly aim to ‘repair’ in the future. I currently live just outside the city of Leicester, but have access to many wonderful green spaces, including a small spinney that I help take care of through voluntary work. I work as a full-time artist and crafter – mainly animal portraits and character design work. I like to express my spiritual beliefs through my artwork too.

I finally decided to sign up for the Bardic grade here today and have read through most of the first booklet. Already I’m finding it much more engaging and practical than what I’ve previously had. I’m starting my Bardic journal tomorrow and am looking forward to it a lot! I like the friendly tone of the authors and look forward to reading everything else in this course.